Read Hometown Girl at Heart by Kirsten Fullmer Online

hometown-girl-at-heart

Tara has always been too engrossed in her work - refurbishing the historical homes in Smithville. She keeps a tight rein on her jobs and her emotions buried, but she’s loosing control of both since that ridiculous city boy investor showed up. New in town, Justin is confident that his ultra modern resorts will bring Smithville into the twenty-first century. If only the locaTara has always been too engrossed in her work - refurbishing the historical homes in Smithville. She keeps a tight rein on her jobs and her emotions buried, but she’s loosing control of both since that ridiculous city boy investor showed up. New in town, Justin is confident that his ultra modern resorts will bring Smithville into the twenty-first century. If only the local-yokels and their ringleader, the gorgeous and peculiar Tara, would stop interfering. With her quirky and protective hometown behind her, will Tara confront Justin and the town’s long buried secrets to take on the financial and emotional risk of a lifetime?...

Title : Hometown Girl at Heart
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781973326618
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 321 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Hometown Girl at Heart Reviews

  • Sreepurna Datta
    2019-05-01 02:18

    For fans of Robyn Carr and Debbie Macomber, this series is perfect.Tara is such an amazing protagonist. My inner feminist kept applauding her for her strong beliefs, independence and lack of helpless-heroine syndrome inspite of her circumstances.Justin was just as perfect for Tara. He is your typical alpha male hero, but without a controlling douchebag. His thought process is often hilarious, just like his reactions to certain "features" of Smithville.I LOVE that series has third person POV, but still shows the two sides of the story. It's far more interesting that way, and gives a more complete sort of perspective. Overall; if you are a fan of small town romance novels, this one is a perfect start.Also, do check out the cover of the paperback edition. It's gorgeous.

  • Novel Addiction
    2019-05-23 01:34

    In this book Fullmer shows how firm a grasp she has at writing punchy dialogue and characters able to leap off the page as you read. There is also, I found, a charm underneath the romance, meaning it had a greater depth than just being a romantic-type of novel. A lot more subtle, but also rewarding because of that. It also wasn’t too heavily focussed on graphic sex scenes meaning there was a real balance that added to the overall experience. A well thought out novel that shows there is still room for a fresh voice to rise up in the romance genre.

  • Lust for Lit
    2019-05-02 23:33

    This is a classic love story about a woman falling for the handsome outsider, against her initial intuition. The story unfolds during the weeks it takes her to renovate an old house ready for sale, while she is obliged to work with the big city out-of-towner who thinks he knows it all and infuriates her. Similarly he is far from keen to develop any relationship with her at all, let alone a romantic one. However, things develop and change and the pair’s feelings towards each other duly develop and change. Although I thought it was a dead cert that they would eventually get it together, I didn’t find the plot predictable. I never knew from scene to scene how things would work out in the roller coaster relationship the pair find themselves in. This was an enjoyable book that I happily spent a lazy afternoon reading.

  • Biblio Phanatic
    2019-05-10 20:35

    Kirsten Fullmer’s story begins with a definite clash of personalities but delivers the all important happy ending required by a romance novel. The romance in question, between the story’s two main characters, is not an easy journey by any means and there are many occasions when it’s far from clear if love will prevail or not. The story is told from the point of view of a fiercely independent young woman who eventually falls in love with a man who walks into her life out of the blue. It certainly isn’t a case of love at first sight, more like hate at first sight! The couple must navigate precarious obstacles before they can even dream of using the L word. As a reader I felt just as frustrated by the characters’ issues as they did. I was rooting

  • Elizabeth Foy
    2019-05-18 21:36

    Loved it. Now reading second book

  • Luxurious Literature
    2019-05-19 00:07

    From the start this author used good descriptive language and set the scene perfectly. We find the main character in a newly acquired property, decorating and renovating for resale on a tight schedule, when an unexpected stranger turns up in the form of competition. Misunderstandings follow and continue throughout the story, with plenty of difficult interactions, plus a whole lot of sexual tension, as the couple get to know each other and work together. Their immediate dislike and mistrust soon turns to attraction and this is essentially a love story about overcoming differences. The story is told from a very female perspective, charting a very female fantasy. The main character has definite issues and conflicts as a woman uncomfortable with her own desires, which makes her all the more believable.

  • Book Blast
    2019-05-16 18:30

    Hometown Girl at Heart (aka Shabby Chic at Heart) is a romantic fantasy, boy meets girl, triumph over adversity story, written by a woman for a female audience.The two main characters meet at the opening of the story and start off on the wrong foot. They have a turbulent relationship at first but then fall for each other against the odds.This love story is set against a backdrop of business. The leading lady is a buyer and seller of homes who works her magic on the most dilapidated of properties and the leading man is a designer with a very different outlook and ideas to hers.The tension mounts in each chapter, within their business and private relationships. Kirsten Fullmer teases readers with her hot-under-the collar scenes and I liked the addition of a touch of reality in the long-awaited sex scene.

  • Rabid Reads
    2019-04-28 01:10

    Shabby Chic at Heart (Hometown Series Book 1) by Kirsten Fullmer is a heartwarming romance that is a little bit spicy, inspiring, and cute all at once. Tara as the protagonist is a house renovator, who is quite good at what she does. The level of detail that was written into this character and the actual detail given about home renovation was impressive, in particular when it comes to old homes. Tara is truly a protector of vintage homes and wants to keep them in their glory and as close to their original shape as much as possible. When Justin enters the picture though as an aggressive and savvy developer, the two are at odds with each other. A romantic attraction muddies the complexities that already exist between the two, and sets the stage for an endearing, romantic story that is both pretty wholesome by today's standards, and an easy read. This is a great first installment in a great series, with a focus on decorating, romance and more. Highly recommend for an engaging, fun read.

  • Biblio Virgo
    2019-05-09 01:25

    4 out of 5 stars ____________ Full of romance, humour and drama, Shabby Chic at Heart by Kirsten Fullmer is sure to capture the interest of any reader. Tara has lived in small-town Smithville her whole life. The town is her family. She refurbishes old estates and vintage furniture, keeping things to the shabby side. Tara’s goal is to please the town and make the people happy, so when an offer of a lifetime pops into her career she cannot say no. She did not expect to have a partner-in-crime though. Maybe then she would have re-thought her answer. Tara needs to get used to Justin and his city-developer ways. As Justin has one vision for the project, Tara as another. The pair are forced to agree upon one design which is a tricky feat in itself. Things become even more difficult though, with the arousal intimate feelings. Never before had a women arrested his attention to the point of madness. Hot and cold.Touch and go. Discover what happens to Tara and Justin when you read the trilogy. ____________ One of the things that made me enjoy this book so much is Fullmer’s writing. Her style is simple. I may sound repetitive when saying this in my reviews but I find simple writing a necessity to any novel. I was able to get through this book no sweat. I never got bored and felt the need to put it down, though this could also be Fullmer’s sense of humour. I often found myself laughing at funny lines and quotes. ____________ To further outline Fullmer’s humour I will describe to you one of my favourite moments. Tara and Justin went to the project site to scope out the run-down homes. While analyzing one of the buildings Justin hears an odd noise. A black flash and piercing squeak makes him run and scream like a baby while Tara is crutched over laughing. It was a bat. When Tara goes to release the bat out the window, the shutter falls on the creature. Justin then offers to take the bat to the vet but unfortunately while being treated the bat does not survive. “So then, that was the first bat the vet has ever had to put to sleep…” When Justin said this I laughed so hard. I actually had to take a minute to move on to the next chapter. ____________ My favourite character is Winnie. “Come on dear, sit down. A cup of tea always helps in crisis moments.” This quote precisely showcases Winnie’s southern charm. Winnie is Tara’s caretaker. When Tara was a little child her father did not treat her the best due to his alcohol addiction. Eventually Winnie, a neighbour, took Tara in and they started the refurbishing business together. Being the person that Tara has always needed, Winnie supports her in everything she does. She would die for Tara. Winnie’s character shows the best attributes of humanity with a bubbly personality and a kind heart. ____________ I am pleased to say that there is not one thing I did not like about this book. I loved everything about it. With this novel being an adult realistic romance I recommend it be read by a more mature audience of 16 years and up. Not all the content is PG which is a-ok as this book caters to adults. This is a book I would recommend to people who do not read. It is fast and quick and the storyline sucks you in from the first chapter. Fullmer is one of the best romance writers I have come across. Well done. Yours truly,​Biblio Virgo

  • Jessica
    2019-05-05 20:24

    The small town full of quirky, endearing and relatable characters really made this book a delight to read. It is lighthearted, has a great setting, and I really enjoyed the transformations that take place. It is full of fun shabby chic decorating, and an ending that warmed my heart and put a big goofy grin on my face. It is a light, happy book that will leave you wanting to read more by this charming new author.

  • Tracy Zullo
    2019-05-09 19:26

    Nice romance - feels like an older one - quiet 3.5 stars

  • Tracy Zullo
    2019-05-14 21:08

    A quiet romance - feels like an older one 3.5 stars

  • Jessica
    2019-04-26 23:12

    Moving to a small town, Julia hopes to hide from her past and her future. Instead, she finds that warmth and friendship are never far away, and that starting over isn't always bad. This is a heartwarming tale of change, struggle, and finding yourself.